Why isn’t Everyone Green?

Day 7 of my “Go Green for a better Earth” cause and I walk inside of my college apartment only to find that it is smoldering hot. (No A/C on) I started to pace around my room looking for ways to get cool. Ice cold drink….that didn’t work. De-robing….keeping it PG of course, but that didn’t work either. So ultimately I decided to crank on the A/C in efforts to bring the apartment at least back to room temperature. Then I start to look around at the many reusable water bottles I have gotten in the past couple of weeks, and uh I don’t really feel like washing them. Then I look at the empty wall sockets that I have been plugging electronics in and out of before I leave my apartment in the morning. Which ultimately leads me to ask the question, why isn’t everyone “green?” I think that I’ve figured it out. As a country, as people, as consumers we don’t have the immediate need or want to put the work into showing some sort of sustainability. Everyone one of the thing that I’ve said has an easier approach to receiving the same result. Yes we all want to save money and save energy and think that we are keeping energy back into the Earth, but people are essentially lazy. I found myself really wanting to just buy the case of plastic water bottles, that would give me the same tap water and not have to wash dishes. The A/C , I could’ve kept it on, and come back to a chilly house, but I didn’t. I wanted to do these things because I believe that I (we) can save the planet if we just try a little harder to do it. We’ve only got one planet, so I’m down for the cause, are you?

Photo Courtesy of nssdc.gsfc.nasa.gov

About Skyler

S.K.Y.L.E.R. -- Follow me @SkylerHenry

One thought on “Why isn’t Everyone Green?

Leave a Reply

