Be Your Best

“Doing the best at this moment puts you in the best place for the next moment.”
Oprah Winfrey

I’m starting to count down the days until I graduate from college, and I have to say, I’m anxious, nervous, excited, and quite frankly a bit scared. For 21 years, there has been a security net, someone to be there just in case, and for the first time there won’t be. I will be a “grown-up” and to me (I think I speak for all graduating seniors) it’s a little unreal. Mom’s love is always going to be there, but it’s time to fend for myself. Time to face this mess of an economy and try to be the best man I can possibly be, time to sell myself to a potential company to make an honest living. It won’t be easy. But as they say, that’s life. Where will I end up? Who will I meet? How much money will I make? Can it really be that bad? All of these questions I have, but instead of fearing these questions, I’m going to do my best to be as prepared as I can possibly be. To all of those who are reading this, look at what the message of my site is. Be your best. Only then can you find out your true value and your true self. Whether it is in your personal life, your work/school life, or your social life. Be your best. Stay prepared, stay wholesome, and stay positive. I tell myself this all of the time (with the encouragement of others) and I work really hard to stay at my best. For the longest time I have looked up to those who have expected nothing less than perfection in their work (Oprah, Seacrest, Will Smith, and most recently Steve Jobs). These people worked extremely hard to achieve the goals, most of whom were faced with those same questions that I ask myself daily. All of these people had a passion, all of these people lived and are living their dream. So I encourage all of you, whether you are a graduating senior or a hard-working single parent, to be your best. Be the best you can possibly be.

Skyler

About Skyler

S.K.Y.L.E.R. -- Follow me @SkylerHenry

One thought on “Be Your Best

  1. As a recent college graduate, I can tell you those are all valid questions. Walking across that stage feels like walking off a cliff and not knowing whether or not something/someone will be there to break your fall can be incredibly nerve-wrecking. But though the fears and uncertainty is justifified, you can’t dwell on it. You have to fear the unknown in moderation. Invest (time, energy & finances) in your passion, focus on what you want to do/be and, most importantly, trust God. You have to train yourself now, before graduation, to trust that everything happens according to God’s plan – even the not so ideal circumstances like rejection and economic strain. Tie your heart up in your dreams and aspirations, keep your sleeves rolled up and work your lil butt off. Passion and faith will take you places your imagination could never find the creativity to dream of.

    Best of luck,
    Jai (@Pretty_N_Pixels)

Leave a Reply

