Comments on Other Blogs

Student Comments

Gary Barton – “The Problem With Twitter”

My Response:

You have to look at the advantages Twitter has. Twitter has flattened the social hierarchy that we have in today’s society. We can now talk to our favorite celebrities, politicians, and CEOs without going through a “chain of command” and never allowing our voices to be heard. I will agree with you that the “what are you doing every second of your life” tweet does become rather annoying scrolling through your timeline and I think every tweet should have purpose. You only look at Twitter from a negative point of view, but take the time to look for the positives and once you do, then you can make a balanced argument.

Kayla Tokars – “Social Media – To Use Or Not To Use”

Kayla,

I totally get where you are coming from. One’s life should not revolve around Twitter. I will say that there are great advantages of being active on Twitter. You mentioned that companies use the social media realm to get their message out there, and ironically they want to see if you can get the message out there too. Social Media is the wave of the future and many companies are hiring (so I hear) people just for social and new media. I think grasping an understanding is the most important thing for social media and learning how not to abuse it. All in all great post!

Jasmine Harvard – “Ben & Jerry’s Scweddy Balls Ice Cream Conflict”

I heard about this! This is definitely a great way to stand behind the product that you sell. I agree that there should’ve been a more tender approach to the way that Ben and Jerry’s quoted on the conflict. Based on what you are saying the comment did seem to have a little “well who really cares because people are buying it” attitude, and I think that in the future maybe there should be a bit of caution and tenderness when dealing with consumers.

Taylor Kidd – “Why I Will Not Use Twitter”

This was great! I think that it is really impressive that you have managed to stay off of Twitter this long. I will say that Twitter is catered to its user similar to how FaceBook is. One advantage Twitter has right now (who knows for how long) is the amount of junk that is posted in the news feed or in Twitter world “Timeline.” Between ads and random pictures of Justin Bieber there is definitely a lot of things going on Facebook, which surprises me as to why you don’t like Twitter. But to each his own.

Wishing you the best,

Skyler

Jasmine Fillmore – “Pro-PR”

I completely agree with this, there’s so much to public relations to ignore it, and making yourself aware of what PR is and the language used in public relations will only benefit you in the long run. 

Davia Woulard – “To Blog or Not to Blog”

It’s crazy how many companies and organizations are looking for people to write, and not only write well but to write with a creative flair. I think that having such a great blog is going to help you go far because I think this is a great launching pad to get you noticed. Good stuff!

Ms. Andrews – Comments

“What Would You Research”

If I could research anything, it would be what made people happy and their pursuit of that happiness and how they measured success. I think that those questions are the most intriguing, and I think that the responses you would get would differ so much.

“Blog Topics for Intro to PR”

A topic that I would pick would be…How would a PR practitioner handle college athletics, the scandal, the amount of respect that certain sports command, and how to make everything seem fair to the everyday student.

“Movies for Public Relations students”

The movie Hancock…Hancock was a Super Hero “bust” that needed his image changed. Jason Bateman took the role of fixing Hancock’s image.

About Skyler

S.K.Y.L.E.R. -- Follow me @SkylerHenry

Leave a Reply

