iGiveUp

Courtesy of appleheadlines.com

Yeah we get it…here comes an amazing new iPad with great new features and cool things like that, or as anyone who was born pre 1965 says “bells and whistles.” At first glance from all of the pictures and live blogs, it looks the exact same. Of course it isn’t…it’s faster and full of new camera lenses and random things that make lines wrap around Apple retail stores for hours waiting for it to come out.

 

I get it….but then I don’t.

 

Don’t get me wrong, I’m pro Apple. Almost every bit of technology I own is Apple, from my phone to the very Macbook I’m writing this blog on. But there is something addictive about it….and I’m glad I’m catching it early before I give in to shelling out another absurd amount of money for another Apple product.

 

It doesn’t make sense…

 

I understand Apple’s reasoning for  putting out  a product every year…you have to keep the money coming in some how, but the rate that these products are being presented and sold is ridiculous. Take for example Apple’s software “Lion.” There was all this buzz about it and it came out late in the summer of last year. Now they have a new software coming out called “Mountain Lion” coming out again this summer. Yeah it looks great! Simplifying our daily lives so that all of our devices can be connected, but couldn’t they have just updated the software on what they already put out?

 

I understand the perfection of Apple. The quality of Apple. The “top of the totem pole” feeling that Apple gives off to its other competitors. I don’t understand the time tables that they release things or the social relevance it has to command a “BREAKING NEWS” headline on different news websites.

 

I’m not in PR, but whoever is in charge of Apple’s must be getting a ton of money. Because year after year, they continue to bring together a cult following of techies (including me) to drop a boatload of cash on something that will be made obsolete in about 12 months. Baffling? Yes. But I guess that’s the world we live in. Will Apple continue to be a go-to for technology for me…..YES. But trying to fight it off, saying that oh I’ll just wait on the next thing….well…..iGIVEUP

 

S.K.Y.L.E.R.

About Skyler

S.K.Y.L.E.R. -- Follow me @SkylerHenry

One thought on “iGiveUp

  1. I agree. It almost makes you want to wait for the better version. The only problem with this logic – the newer version will be obsolete soon too.

    In the end we have to buy what we need and be content with it.

Leave a Reply

